#OccupyNigeria by @Mr_428586

Posted: January 6, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

With the recent happenings in the country (Nigeria)…. i think its only fair, (despite the fact this blog site is an entertainment site), that we do what we can… in our own little way (call it “civic duty”) to enlighten peeps about the travails our fellow Nigerians are passing through courtesy of the direction of  ”peeps in high places”.

I will like to introduce to you Guest blogger by the name of  Mr. Ibukun (@Mr_428586). He works with one of the Leading insurance firms in Nigeria, where he occupies the office of a ‘System Auditor‘. Of course he is an avid reader of this site and i am glad he chose us to represent his thoughts. I have to say i am mad impressed with the way he sums up the hardship Nigerians go through, using his a day in his life as an example. Anyways, i better stop yapping and  alllow you the pleasure of reading his post.

A Day In The Life of A Working Class Nigerian

I wake up 5:30am, in the dark and all I can think about is the $16Billion Power probe and its “outcome”. Say my prayers with my phone’s backlight as source of illumination as there is no time to turn on the gen and the inverter didn’t last the night. I have my bath with water I had fetched and stored from last night (to prevent any unpleasant surprises from the public water board), dress up and because the day hadn’t fully broken, I almost wore a brown belt with ‘matching’ pair of black shoes.

Finally I make it out of my abode and head towards my car and shrug as I notice the layers of dust upon the body of the car. Nothing I can do there, it isn’t my fault that the road directly in front of my house is untarred and heavily traversed by motorists trying to gain some valuable minutes on their journey to work. I start my journey, meandering through the several giant sized potholes and do a little bit of dancing as there are some crevices I cannot but go through.

Finally I hit the express and it is blocked, “bumper-to-bumper” *sigh*. To assuage my mood, I turn on my radio to a station that airs a newspaper review program and I am battered with continuous unpalatable news items such as “Presidency to spend 1 billion naira on feeding”, “Fuel Subsidy must go in 2012”, “LASU Students protest hike in tuition fees”, “Explosion in Kaduna”. Rather than becoming calmer, I am more agitated about the evident inability of our elected leaders to get things done properly. Different questions crop up in my head “Are we that inept as a nation?”, “where is the place of credibility in our nation?”, “do we even have social values?” and several others. All this as traffic is snaking along and I’m trying to avoid getting hit or hitting another car in the process.

Finally at work, later people…

…Eight hours later

Making my way of out of the company car park at the close of work and headed straight into traffic. While listening to music and crawling through traffic, I’m pulled over by Policemen. My heart starts to thump, why? Maybe it is because of the various “accidental discharges” that happen at police check points. Maybe it is the fact that Nigerian policemen regard one as guilty until proven innocent. Maybe it is because the policemen may ask for a particular document that, as a matter of fact, does not exist and I cannot argue with them because of the 1st afore mentioned reason. Luckily, all they wanted was something for the evening, which I parted with gladly.

I get home and surprisingly there is electric power supply. I rush into my apartment so I can iron my clothes for the next 7 days as government supplied electricity is a rarity. On my 3rd shirt, the power supply is interrupted, no surprise there. At least I still have clothes for the next three days, at some point before I deplete of that supply of shirts, they would have restored electricity supply long enough for me to iron another set.

I turn on my gen, watch a little bit of the free-to-air television and wonder when program content became so void of innovation, intellect and quality. I turn off the television and say my prayers. As always I say a little prayer for my nation, even though I don’t believe anything will change until we change our ways.

Goodnight… Tomorrow the struggle continues {when is the next public holiday sef?}

Please note that this Blog was penned down before the Fuel Subsidy Removal debacle. That story is for another day

Posted by @Ogagus_

Leave a Reply

